# **December 6, 2023 Reorganization Meeting**

The reorganizational meeting of the Board of Directors of the Bradford Area School District was held in the Large Group Instruction Room at Floyd C. Fretz Middle School, 140 Lorana Ave., Bradford, PA at 7:00 p.m.

# PRESENT:

Shane Oschman, President; Carla Manion, Vice-President; Hiel Bartlett, Gretchen Daugherty, Frances Forbes, Eric Marasco, Helen Schuster, and Stephanie Scrivo
Vickie Baker, Treasurer
Sam Johnson, Amy Yohe, Erin Waugaman, Ken Coffman, Marty Cummins, Wes Lohrman, Missy Merry, Amber Benjamin, Sarah Tingley, Lisa Esch and Dave Green.
Mandy Colosimo, The Bradford Era
Kendall Gracey-Dalton and Tanya Wilbon

President Oschman called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

## **DETERMINE PRESENCE OF QUORUM**

A quorum was present with eight board of directors in attendance.

## CALL TO ORDER, PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE, AND A MOMENT OF SILENCE

### **RECOGNITION OF VISITORS (No public comment at this time)**

### **ROLL CALL OF HOLD OVER AND NEWLY ELECTED SCHOOL DIRECTORS**

- A. Hold Over Members:
  - 1. Hiel Bartlett Present
  - 2. Frances Forbes Present
  - 3. Shane Oschman Present
  - 4. Helen Schuster Present
- B. Newly Elected Members:
  - 5. Vickie Baker Absent
  - 6. Gretchen Daugherty Present
  - 7. Carla Manion Present
  - 8. Eric Marasco Present
  - 9. Stephanie Scrivo Present

### **REORGANIZATION**

A. Election of Temporary President – President

President Oschman asked for nominations for Temporary President. Hiel Bartlet made the motion to nominate Helen Schuster, and this was seconded by Frances Forbes. Mr. Oschman asked if there were any other nominations to come before the board. There being none, a motion to close nominations was made by Frances Forbes, seconded by Hiel Bartlett.

A vote by the four Holdover members was taken to approve Ms. Schuster as Temporary President. Motion passes. 4 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions

B. Certificate of Election for New Members

As per the McKean County Board of Elections, please be advised the results of the November 7, 2023 Municipal Election have certified the following newly elected school directors as set forth below:

4-Year Term:

- 1. Vickie Baker
- 2. Gretchen Daugherty
- 3. Carla Manion
- 4. Eric Marasco
- 5. Stephanie Scrivo
- C. List of Legally Elected, Qualified School Directors

The following is the list of Legally Elected, Qualified Directors:

- 1. Vickie Baker
- 2. Hiel Bartlett
- 3. Gretchen Daugherty
- 4. Frances Forbes
- 5. Carla Manion
- 6. Eric Marasco
- 7. Shane Oschman
- 8. Helen Schuster
- 9. Stephanie Scrivo
- D. Administering the Oath of Office to New Members
- E. Election of President

Temporary President Schuster asked for nominations for President. Eric Marasco made the motion to nominate Shane Oschman, and this was seconded by Hiel Bartlett. Ms. Schuster asked if there were any other nominations to come before the board. There being none, a motion to close nominations was made by Carla Manion, seconded by Stephanie Scrivo.

# A vote was then taken to approve Mr. Oschman as President. Motion passes. 8 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions, 1 Absent (Baker)

F. Election of Vice-President

President Oschman asked for nominations for Vice President. Stephanie Scrivo made the motion to nominate Carla Manion, and this was seconded by Hiel Bartlett. Mr. Oschman asked if there were any other nominations to come before the board. There being none, a motion to close nominations was made by Gretchen Daugherty, seconded by Carla Manion.

A vote was then taken to approve Ms. Manion as Vice President. Motion passes. 8 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions, 1 Absent (Baker)

# APPOINTMENT TO IU 9 COOPERATIVE PURCHASING BOARD

A. Mrs. Kathy Redington, Accounts Payable Clerk, is currently the representative. Mrs. Amy Yohe is the alternate.

Motion by Carla Manion, seconded by Stephanie Scrivo, to approve the individuals as presented. Unanimously carried.

## APPOINTMENT TO THE TAX COLLECTION COMMITTEE

A. The Act 32 Tax Collection Committee requires delegates to be appointed yearly.Mrs. Amy Yohe is the primary voting delegate and Mrs. Suzanne Erwin will be the first alternate voting delegate.

# Motion by Gretchen Daugherty, seconded by Helen Schuster, to approve the delegates as presented. Unanimously carried.

### **DESIGNATION OF MEETING TIMES AND DATES**

A. Time and Place

The time and place of the meetings will be at 7:00 p.m. at the Floyd C. Fretz Large Group Instruction Room, 140 Lorana Avenue, Bradford, PA 16701.

- B. Dates
  - 1. Regular Meetings will be held the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m., except for the following changes:
    - a. The January Board Meeting will begin at 6:00 p.m.
    - b. The October meeting will be held on the first Monday of the month, which will be October 7, 2024.
    - c. The December Reorganizational and Regular meetings will be held on Wednesday, December 4, 2024.

Motion by Carla Manion, seconded by Stephanie Scrivo, to approve the 2024 Calendar of School Board Regular Meeting Dates as presented above. Unanimously carried.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Gretchen Daugherty, seconded by Frances Forbes, that the meeting be adjourned. Unanimously carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:13 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lisa L. Esch, Recording Secretary